The Lost Museum

About Us

Credits | Sponsors | Awards | Publicity | Contact Us


American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning
The Graduate Center, City University of New York
in collaboration with
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
George Mason University

Over the course of eight years (1996-2002), the following people participated in varying degrees in the conception and construction of The Lost Museum. This extremely collaborative process included historians, artists, programmers, writers, researchers, and animators—from undergraduate and graduate level interns to professors and professionals. All production work occurred in the facilities of the New Media Lab at the CUNY Graduate Center. While the list of credits indicates specific responsibilities, this project is based on the sharing of tasks and merging of talents.
Andrea Ades Vásquez, Joshua Brown, Roy Rosenzweig (1950-2007) - Executive Producers
Andrea Ades Vásquez - Project Director/Art Director
Pennee Bender - Producer
Ellen Noonan, Joshua Brown - Writers

Lee Ann Pomplas - 3-D Animator, Picture Gallery and Waxworks Room
Brian C. Muller - 3-D Animator, Lecture Room
Cortlan McManus - 3-D Animator, Barnum’s Office
Fernando Azevedo, Cristina Yunzal, Liliana Halim - Additional 3-D Animation

Original Programming Team
Andre Pitanga - Head Programmer
Joshua Harvey - Notebook Programmer
Burç Acar, Christopher Terry - Additional Programming
Elena Razlogova, Gene Yu, Michael Laine - Database Programmers

2015 Programming Team
Gretchen Rodriguez - Head Programmer
Joe Kirchhof - Archive Programmer
Marco Battistella - Additional Programming

Steve Prince - Additional Writing
Janine Giordano - Research

ICONOCLAST (Julie Joslyn, Leo Ciesa) - Music
Pat Muchmore - Sound Effects
Peter Buckley, David Carson, Markeisha Ensley, Carol Greski, Sam Hurlbut, Frank Poje, and Isa Vásquez- Voiceover Actors

Special thanks to Madelyn Kent, curator of The Old York Library, for her archival discoveries.

Bluford Adams, Department of English, University of Iowa
Elizabeth Blackmar, Department of History, Columbia University
Stephen Brier, The Graduate Center, City University of New York
Peter G. Buckley, Department of History, The Cooper Union
James (Jay) Cook, Department of History, University of Michigan
Ann Fabian, American Studies and History, Rutgers University
Neil Harris, Department of History, University of Chicago
Kevin Kenny, Department of History, Boston College
Michael O'Malley, Department of History, George Mason University
Benjamin Reiss, Department of English, Tulane University


The Lost Museum has been made possible in part by a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities: Celebrating 50 Years of Excellence. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this Web resource do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.
National Endowment for the Humanities
The Old York Foundation



Contact Us

Andrea Ades Vásquez -